Thoroughbred Aftercare Program

Second Wind Thoroughbred Project


Second Wind Thoroughbred Project
SWTP is proud to be a fully accredited Ex-Racehorse Aftercare Program with the Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance.

SWTP is the vision of life long horsewomen Dayle Eldredge, a hunter/jumper trainer and horse show judge who has been rehabilitating, retraining and re-homing off-track Thoroughbreds for 35 years.  Until the formation of SWTP Dayle has been doing this out-of-pocket, then the growing number of requests from people needing to place horses created the idea of forming SWTP.

Our Board of Directors is comprised of industry professionals from both racing and the horse show world, fostering a cohesive understanding from both sides of the fence.
Since 2015 over 120,000 Thoroughbreds have been registered with the Jockey Club. Less then 50% become winners, and often their owners are unable to keep them. At the end of their racing careers, the majority of these horses will need new job skills. Of utmost importance are the time and care to reset their minds and bodies from the intensely structured life of a racehorse. The thoroughbred racing industry is doing a great job of promoting this athletic and versatile breed of horse in other sports, and this is where programs like SWTP come in.
To do this well, fundraising is vitally important. As caregivers and trainers our obligation is always to the horse, as their advocate.  We must see that no steps are rushed or corners cut in the process of helping the horses succeed in their new life.

Your generosity allows these deserving, beautiful horses the opportunity to live to their potential.

"The greatness of a nation and it's moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated".
As a registered 501c(3) non-profit organization, SWTP receives no public funding and relies 100% on charitable contributions from private donors.  All donations, sponsorships, or grants are tax-deductible.
Executive Committee

Dayle Eldredge - Founder and President

Gayle Frasier - Treasurer/Secretary
Linda Kratochwill - Vice President

Kim Cox- Board Member

Dr. Deborah Marshall, DVM- Board Member

Hayley Stanard- Board Member

Lola Vistica- Board Member